What fatbike did you Build- Mtbr.com
    mtbr member
    Jan 2014

Idea! What fatbike did you Build

I have been reading all thru the forums because i want to try building a chinese carbon fat bike.
    I have no experience building a bike but am generally good at figuring out how to do things.
    I want a 1x11 drive and a frame accepting the largest tires .
    would you mind listing what you put on ? ie :drive ( XTR,XX1), headset, bottom bracket (what did you do about BB shell given 120mm ),spacers, crank , chain ring, brakes, rotor size and which wheels (80,90,100mm) and how are hubs(i see a lot of muttering about noisy/crummy hubs)Did you go tubeless ? are any of the carbon rims better for tubeless than others ?,did you use derailleur hanger that came with frame? ,seat clamp.
    Any changes you would do if starting over.
    Last edited by GREBNET; 01-09-2016 at 08:20 AM. Reason: added ?

mtbr member
    Mar 2015
    I built a DengFu FM190. I have heard that their version is a bit wider in the chain stays then other but can't confirm. some of the parts i had like the crankset from a different bike and used those. The rest of my choices where based on keeping it with in a price point. I have about $1800 into it excluding the crankset. Build is below.

Frame: FM190 with carbon fork
    Wheels: Dengfu 100mm carbon on Chosen hubs
    Crank set: RF turbine cinch 120mm spindle
    BB: RF one that came on old bike
    Bars/stem/seat post: Dengfu carbon
    RD: Shimano SLX
    Cassette: Shimano XT 10spd
    shifter: XT 10spd
    Brakes: Shimano M395 (cheap but i love them, and they are only about 60g heavier then XT for $70/ set)
    tires: Dillinger 5 un-studded and china alloy studs from bikestuds.com (saved myself about $120 by studding myself)