Talk me into a fat bike- Mtbr.com
    mtbr member
    Dec 2010

Talk me into a fat bike

I've been riding regular mountain bikes for over 25 years now (I first had an account on this site in 1996). I don't like change, I don't even like 29ers. HOWEVER. Where I live now, the two nearest trail systems are sandy singletrack, and in many parts it's covered with pine needles that can act like ice. This part of NC/SC is actually called the Sandhills. Traction is always an issue.

A fat bike makes total sense to me, but honestly what worries me is the weight and handling. I like bikes I can flick around tight corners, I like to go very fast, and I do have short and nasty climbs that will get your heart rate up. I guess what I want to know is do these things handle like heavy pigs, or are they not as bad as they look like? I would probably find a used one on CL for not too much money, I imagine I would be looking at a 35-38lb bike.

Here's a vid of one of my trails. In the first 10 seconds you can see what it's like.

mtbr member
    Jan 2004
    Look for threads about the Bontrager 27.5 x 3.8 Hodags and that wheel size. We have a Farley with each and the 27.5 x 3.8 is a surprisingly fine dirt setup.

One pal took it a step farther and his are mounted in a Farley EX bike.

Also rethink 29s. My current generation Fuel EX has the new style bigger SE4 tires. They do well in sand and pine needles - life by our cabin. That's no way a fat bike but absolutely traction and not packing with mud tires where other great ones were a bummer. It might be somewhat wider 29r rims that make them perform so well for me.

I don't mind riding our fatties on dirt but they're slow on pavement and don't rip like our Remedy or Fuel EX. One has a suspension fork and one rigid. Suspension fork is more important in summer than winter.

Our newer Farley with suspension fork, fat and plus wheels would be a fine do it all bike.
    ƃuoɹʍ llɐ ʇno əɯɐɔ ʇɐɥʇ

mtbr member