To stud or not to stud..- Mtbr.com
    mtbr member

To stud or not to stud..

I am a newbie fat biker - I searched the forums and didn't really see an answer to this out there - if I missed it please let me know.

I was riding yesterday after some snow and noticed in places under the snow was this hard layer of ice, so when I had any old ruts or anything not flat/slanted terrain I was sliding sideways & /or wiping out. And found getting going again with any incline pretty challenging (spinning out on ice). I realize some of this is due to the fact I don't know what the hell I am doing , but conditions didn't help I don't think.

I have studs I can put on but am hesitant because I only have the one set of tires. I know I can take the studs out, but if I put them in, I would think you would want to keep them in for a while since there are like 100 of them per tire or something like that..

I just am not sure what makes the most sense and what folks do in general.

Any thoughts/advice?

Oh. I have a 14" Pugsley with Nates for tires. The stock set-up...

Thanks,

Mandy
    Caratunk, ME

The Dog.
    What kind of studs do you have for the Nates? Are they stock 27tpi wire bead Nates?

mtbr member
    Yep, studs will help, but you'll only need then until the snow sets up. You get more snow than we do down here on the coast but this winter has been a weird one for weather. The next few weeks won't be an improvement so they'll be a benefit for a little while at least. It won't hurt to leave them in for the winter anyway.

Maybe stud them up and look for another set? Bikeman has them cheap in the 27tpi version. Or an even cheaper tire, like the $35 Devist8er?

Its not not your riding, ice sucks and ice under snow is the worst.
    ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
    Nothing to see here, move along folks.

Elitest thrill junkie