mtbr member
    Mar 2007

RST Renegade Feedback

I know the Mastodon is the fork of choice. I have a Magnum that I run with 27.5x3.8 and dig it. But the RST renegade is so so cheap, I am intrigued as I would like to run 29+ and bigger fat tires than my current set up allows. Any feedback from long term users?

mtbr member
    Quote Originally Posted by telejefe View Post
    I know the Mastodon is the fork of choice. I have a Magnum that I run with 27.5x3.8 and dig it. But the RST renegade is so so cheap, I am intrigued as I would like to run 29+ and bigger fat tires than my current set up allows. Any feedback from long term users?
    I've been running a Renegade for going on two years now and have had absolutely no problems having used it hard in all kinds of nasty conditions. I recently obtained a wheelset for running 29 X 3.0 on one of my fat bikes using a Renegade and it works great.

For some comparison, I have a 29+ bike equipped with a Magnum and it pains me to admit that I have a slight preference for the fat bike set up for 29+. I'm giving the fat bike to my kid (ulterior motive.....he's moving to Anchorage and it'll be waiting for me to use when I visit)

I'd really like to have the justification to buy a Mastodon but since I've been fully satisfied with the performance of the Renegade, it's difficult to justify the purchase when it's more than twice the price. (found @ < $300 shipped on ebay)

If it's a cost effective means for you to get into plus, I'd say go for it.

mtbr member