Questions on my Origin8 Amarok.- Mtbr.com
    mtbr member

Questions on my Origin8 Amarok.

Am toying with going 10 speed so I can ge a 40t or 41t climbing gear. Currently has 1x9 11-33 on it. Was thinking how much difference would it make if I just changed the 33t chain ring out for a smaller one? Much cheaper but do you guys think it would totally screw the rest of the gears? I was good with the gearing just need a little more for the real steep stuff. Talked to the shop that I got the bike from and was told that the wheels were ok for 10 speed. Said that the 8,9 and 10 were the same size. So trying to decide how to go with it.I am running a 4.9" tire an don't have space for a 2x9 setup. If I went to a 4.0"tire I could probable do that. So many options. One more thing do most of you ride your fat bike wit clipless or flats?

I am new to fat bikes so sorry for all the questions! I really like to ride the thing it is a lot of fun! Trying to get the most out of it that I can.

Thanks Folks!
    2013 Cannondale F29 1 Alloy
    2013 Cervelo S5 Rival
    2012 Trek X01 crosser
    2017 Trek Farley 7
    2017Trek Domane SLR 6

mtbr member
    Jul 2015
    I'm running a 9-speed 28t x 11-34t, I like it quite a bit. Most of my ridding is technical single track and a lot of climbing. Sure I can spin out on pavement or at a DH park, but the bike wasn't bought to grind pavement and I find DH bike parks boring.

But to be fair its a very personal choice. Most people would probably hate my bike setup. So in reality you got to try different options and see what suits you and your ridding best.

Also you seem to own quite a few bikes, haven't you got a ball park of what kind of gears you enjoy? Fat Tires don't really change gear setup that much, might just need an extra one or two cogs in the back, or 2-4 tooth smaller chainring up front.

mtbr member