Q-factor in fat bikes- Mtbr.com
    mtbr member
    Dec 2007

Q-factor in fat bikes

Hello ...
    I just came from France to live in Alaska and I'm really interested about fat bikes.

In France, I rode a Giant XTC carbon bike which weighs less than 20 pounds with a 68 mm bottom bracket.

I have had some knee issues in the past and I'm really afraid about riding a 100 mm width bottom bracket.

The Q-factor on a bike like this must be very big.

All of you have ridden fat bikes for a long time (as well as other bikes too) and I was wondering if the big distance between the two pedals hurts you knees or not even after a 5 hour ride ...or even after a year.

Thanks a lot

Nico

mtbr member
    hi there, i prefer the wider 100mm BB now,i think i spin lower now on average than i used to on regular bikes,i didnt really give it much thought actully when i started riding the pugsley,not until i went out on a cannondale suspension bike after a soild 2 months on the pug and it felt wierd!,so no personaly ive had no probs,my average distances are 20-30 miles midweek and 30-45 miles at weekend days riding and have done several 50+mile 6-8 hour days with no probs,proberly the alaskan snow racers are the guys to ask as they do big miles in hard conditions
    plan it...build it....ride it...love it....
    http://coastkid.blogspot.com/

mtbr member
    Aug 2007
    I can't say that either hurt my knees. Riding my very narrow Q track bike or my very wide Q fat bike. Going back and forth is a little weird at first, but I don't even notice anymore.

mtbr member
    Dec 2007
    no problems other than the somewhat awkward 5 minute transition period. normally 30-40 miles at a time, although I've done a couple 100+ mile rides. however, after experimenting with crank lengths from 165-180mm I found that long cranks and lower rpms was a better fit for me with the pugsley.

A Surly Maverick
    I like the wider stance personally
    Life IS a Beach and then you Corrode :)

mtbr member