On One floaters and self steer?- Mtbr.com
    mtbr member
    May 2014

On One floaters and self steer?

I have been running 27 tpi nates for 3 years, awesome traction and very little self steer. I am thinking of picking up a set of floaters in black. I would like some feedback regarding the amount of self steer with the floaters. I hate self steer, and that is why I haven't strayed away from the nates. Any input from floater users is appreciated.

mtbr member
    May 2011
    I've used both. The Floaters definitely have more self steer than the Nates, but it isn't unmanageable. You have to run them at a higher PSI. The Nate is a superior tire, but the Floaters are more reasonably priced. I bought a bunch of colored ones for cheap a while back because the trails I ride eat tires quick. They hold up pretty well, and perform decently. Buying new Nates all the time would put me in the poor house.

mtbr member
    My experience with floaters is that there was no noticeable self steer even at low pressures. 4.8 Knard and Bud had more self steer than the floater. The colored floaters are heavier, maybe self steer comes from the thicker casing.

mtbr member
    Nov 2013
    Quote Originally Posted by OddTrickStar View Post
    My experience with floaters is that there was no noticeable self steer even at low pressures. 4.8 Knard and Bud had more self steer than the floater. The colored floaters are heavier, maybe self steer comes from the thicker casing.
    I didn't know where was a difference in weight between the coloured floaters compared to the black ones. Do you know how much difference in weight there is?

mtbr member
    Quote Originally Posted by HypnoT0AD View Post
    I didn't know where was a difference in weight between the coloured floaters compared to the black ones. Do you know how much difference in weight there is?
    My orange tyre weighed 1722 grams and a black came in at 1466 grams. So a 256 gram penalty for a bit of colour. Both were new.

Tim