Off the shelf 29r wheelset for a Specialized Fatboy?- Mtbr.com
    mtbr member
    Jul 2019

Off the shelf 29r wheelset for a Specialized Fatboy?

Probably a simple question but I'm fairly new to the fat bike scene. I've got a Fatboy I really like with 4.6" tires and would like a second wheelset in the 29x3 range for summer use. Do I have to build a set myself or is there an off the shelf product available? 135 front, 190 rear. Both QR.

Thanks

mtbr member
    Quote Originally Posted by Dale C View Post
    Probably a simple question but I'm fairly new to the fat bike scene. I've got a Fatboy I really like with 4.6" tires and would like a second wheelset in the 29x3 range for summer use. Do I have to build a set myself or is there an off the shelf product available? 135 front, 190 rear. Both QR.

Thanks
    JensonUSA has raceface and wtb 29" rims on sale right now. I just bought some wtb 29" 40mm rims to build up and run 3.0 tires on.

I've been looking at off the shelf and there doesn't seem to be much selection specially in the 190/135 hubs, there is some but they are way over priced and carbon fiber.

Bikesdirect has some cheap sets but not sure on what kind of quality they are. I know they offer the novatec hubs on their cheap sets.

Im gonna build mine up with quality parts over the winter for next summer. Hope pro4 hubs and some good maxxis tires. Recently installed a 150mm hope pro4 through axle in my front tire for my mastodon fork and love it. The rear hope hub is the price of both rims and tires tho. I can see myself spending $1000 on a full set all laced up.

Sent from my VOG-L04 using Tapatalk

mtbr member
    Nov 2004
    Don't waste your money on crap off the shelf wheels....too many compromises, and in the end, you end up with junk that you hate .
    Mikesee, who posts here runs Lacemine29....
    He can probably put you into what you need.

mtbr member
    Jul 2019