Need help: Farley 7 vs old Farley 8 and how to make them summer-friendly- Mtbr.com
    mtbr member
    Jun 2017

Need help: Farley 7 vs old Farley 8 and how to make them summer-friendly

Hi everyone and greetings from Ukraine,
    I need advice on Trek Farley I am planning to buy.
    To start with, I am new to fatbiking but very interested in getting a fatbike for all-season cycling and, mainly, for bikepacking travels which I started to do recently with my old hardtail bike.

Few weeks ago I ordered Stache 7 18.5" but it was a little bit big for me (my height is 5’9) and I had to return it. I tried to reorder a smaller 17.5” frame but it wasn’t available locally and Trek distributor in my country told me that 17.5” Stache 7 aren’t available on Trek EU warehouse neither. Same for Stache 9.6 which I was considering as a more expensive option. Going forward, he told me that Trek not going to restock Stache 2017 models here because, basically, it is almost end of season and new 2018 models will be introduced soon (he told me it will be mid-late summer but in reality who knows when new models will hit the stores).
    Long story short, seems that I am will not be able to buy Stache until end of summer, I am not happy with it and started to look for reasonable options available.
    There two 17.5” Farley bikes that are available locally, Farley 7 2017 and Farley 8 2015.
    As far as I know Farley is mainly a snow machine and doesn’t work well in summer out of the box. My idea is to buy Farley and another 27.5”+ or even 29” wheels with 3” tires and suspension fork for summer season. This way I will have a true all-season solution. Does this make sense?