Mongoose Dolomite vs Malus- Mtbr.com
    mtbr member
    Mar 2013

Mongoose Dolomite vs Malus

Hi All:
    I am interested in buying either Mongoose Dolomite or Malus. I am a 6ft 2in and 350 lbs guy. I will be mostly riding it on asphalt/concrete trails few times a week. I would like to know the differences and better option between the two. I am a noob when it comes to bike, so your help is much appreciated. I am also keen to know if the bike frame has holes to fit the below baby carrier: https://www.amazon.com/CoPilot-7064487- ... ion&sr=1-2.

Thank you,
    AR.

mtbr member
    May 2011
    Quote Originally Posted by ramaka View Post
    Hi All:
    [COLOR=#333333][FONT=&quot]I am interested in buying either Mongoose Dolomite or Malus. I am a 6ft 2in and 350 lbs guy. ...
    A lot of things that apply to the Dolo also apply to the Malus, so check out the Dolo thread.
    The major difference is the rear hub. The Malus rear relies upon being screwed together. Search this sub forum for the Malus references/threads.

Sorry, bad news. Your weight means you're a Clyde(sdale). The weaker softer shafts in the hubs and the bottom bracket spindle means they will wear much faster and experience has shown they are highly likely to bend. You can upgrade the BB with a cartridge type and swept crank arms. Good luck finding a rear fat hub for that spoke count.
    In short. The bike will not last.

You will have difficulty having sufficient stopping power with your weight and the stock brakes. You don't want that with a baby on the back. You will have to upgrade the brakes to be safe.

If you add up the cost of the bike, and a brake upgrade, and bottom bracket & crank arm upgrade, and who knows what you can do for a rear hub upgrade/fix, (and likely want a different freewheel or front crank ring so you have fat gearing and not cruiser gearing), look at those $ and see if you can get closer to a "real" bike instead of a BSO(bicycle shaped object)/department-store-bike.