Minnesota 1.0 V. 2.0- Mtbr.com
    mtbr member
    May 2017

Cool-blue Rhythm Minnesota 1.0 V. 2.0

Alright, I'm looking for my first fat bike! I need cheap because I'm a broke college student but I need something that will be really good in snow. I've exhausted myself looking for something on craigslist and had no luck!
    I've been looking at a women's Minnesota 1.0 or a 2.0 and just can't see what the big difference is other than front gears, price and a 2oz. weight difference. Thehouse.com has them listed for a $50 difference. What are your thoughts on these bikes? Can someone explain the difference in a single front gear versus a double front gear?

Rollin' a fatty Moderator
    The double adds more gearing options and weight, the rest of the bike is about the same. Keep in mind that with a double drive train your widest tire can only be 4.0, with a single you could go up to 4.6.

If going for a Minn and can afford it go with the 3.0, it will allow you to put a suspension fork in the future due to having a tapered head tube, the rest is the same.

mtbr member
    Dec 2012
    I've done very well with used bikes on Pinkbike.com. This site also has classifieds but I have never used them.

I suspect that there are a fair number of people who buy fat bikes and then discover they don't love them and sell them out a couple years later, so I think there are some good deals out there.

Also, technology in fat bikes have changed extensively in the last 2-3 years, so a lot of people are upgrading from offset frames (Surly Pugsley & Moonlander, and most 4-5+ year old models) or are upgrading from rigid bikes to ones with a suspension fork. So there are probably a fair number of used bikes coming on the market at attractive prices.