Lightening a Clownshoe- Mtbr.com
    mtbr member

Lightening a Clownshoe

Maybe this is absurd but I would like to know if any one has lightened a Clownshoe beyond the factory cut outs.

Is it possible?
    Is it safe?
    Can the rim retain stiffness and strength?

Gcappy

mtbr member
    Feb 2012
    As a machinist I can tell you enlarging holes is a crapshoot, there is only one efficient way to do it, and NOT recommended for this rim. Greenlee punches meant for sheet metal electrical boxes are specifically made to make a large hole larger, but only round holes.

I would stick to DT Revolution or Aerolite spokes and the lightest hub you can afford, which for me was the Bonz single speed trials hub at 215g incl bolts for non-offset setups. For offset wheels bikehubstore still carries Rotaz at 252g.

If you want lighter, then Clownshoe not the best option. They do what they do well, allow massive tires, which weigh alot too.

mtbr member
    Quote Originally Posted by roobydoo View Post
    As a machinist I can tell you enlarging holes is a crapshoot, there is only one efficient way to do it, and NOT recommended for this rim. Greenlee punches meant for sheet metal electrical boxes are specifically made to make a large hole larger, but only round holes.

I would stick to DT Revolution or Aerolite spokes and the lightest hub you can afford, which for me was the Bonz single speed trials hub at 215g incl bolts for non-offset setups. For offset wheels bikehubstore still carries Rotaz at 252g.

If you want lighter, then Clownshoe not the best option. They do what they do well, allow massive tires, which weigh alot too.
    Understand, the existing holes in the rim should not be touched. Having said that are there any other areas of the rim that could go under the knife, I mean drill? Smaller holes between or around?

Gcappy

mtbr member