mtbr member

Lauf Fat fork owners

Every review of the lauf discusses the undamped nature of their design. I understand what that theoretically means (I'm an engineer), but to those who actually ride it, do you actually run experience resonance or parametric oscillation? I also know that theoretically the undamped tire and the undamped leaf spring could light each other off, but in practical application do you experience this issue?

I am riding a fully rigid fat bike, my riding is mostly singletrack with a lattice work of roots all over it, both clay and sand. As my fitness has been improving, I've been challenging myself with longer rides. I like the idea of a little suspension to take away chatter on longer rides, just wondering if it feels bad or how bad is it. I have noticed an occasional tire bob when pedaling a certain speed on smooth surfaces. It is annoying but easily overcome with a slight adjustment in cadence and/or gear. The tire bob never seems to be an issue on singletrack.
    Last edited by iliketexmex; 2 Weeks Ago at 12:00 PM.

This place needs an enema
    If you're pushing really, really hard through techy, chunky terrain, yes you notice it.

I still prefer it over rigid.

The faster I want to go, the more I prefer my Mastodon.

mtbr member
    Jan 2007