mtbr member
    Nov 2018

Hi, newbie here, pondering a first fat bike, comparison? advice?

I am an avid road cyclist (7k miles per year since 2010, 59 years old and very fit) with three full carbon bikes (two fujis and a motobecane I'm trying to sell), a Diamondback Haanjo (gravel/all purpose) and a Cannondale Slate (2018 Force) I just bought the Cannondale and love it but somehow I can't stop looking at fat tire bikes. I am a 5'4" woman, my road bikes are generally 50s, my Slate is a small. I would like to do more trail riding and ride in snow here in Lancaster, PA. Having just bought my fifth, just for fun bike, I am looking for an entry level fat tire and considering the Framed Minnesota 2.0 womens ($699)and the Wolftrax alloy compact 2016 that Performance has for $750, but I'm open to other ideas, including if you think my Slate can do most of what a fat tire can do (I have 42s on it/650b)

Any and all advice welcome! THANKS IN ADVANCE!

Rocking on a Rocky
    Not sure your Slate can do what a fat bike will do. Sell the bikes you want to sell and aim hight for your fat bike.
    It doesn't matter what I ride as long as I ride it Rubber Side Down●~●.

turtles make me hot
    https://surlybikes.com/bikes/wednesday

Costs more than the other bikes you listed but a great bike and worth looking.
    I like turtles

mtbr member
    Dec 2012
    At 5'4" make sure you consider stand over height you will need a bike with reasonable standover height for snow riding. I have short legs and went with a 9:zero:7 due to their frame design. Take look at one of the bikes direct Boris models.

mtbr member
    Jan 2009
    Quote Originally Posted by cyclynn View Post
    I am looking for an entry level fat tire and considering the Framed Minnesota 2.0 womens ($699)and the Wolftrax alloy compact 2016 that Performance has for $750, but I'm open to other ideas, including if you think my Slate can do most of what a fat tire can do (I have 42s on it/650b)