Groupset options?- Mtbr.com
    mtbr member
    Mar 2015

Groupset options?

My Felt DD30 will be with me within the next 5 days and i want to changed it to a 1x set up.
    I'm considering splashing out on some Shimano M9000 XTR bits to give the cheap bike a little bling?

What are your thoughts or what 1x set up would you recommend that will go straight on the bike.

I have a budget of about 1000 and this will be a second bike to my 2015 Scott Scale 710 that i have also had a play with.

This will be my first fat bike so go easy on me i'm still learning.

Thingamejigger
    Ride it first, then see if a 1x10 is practical for you.

mtbr member
    Mar 2015
    Quote Originally Posted by Flying_Scotsman View Post
    Ride it first, then see if a 1x10 is practical for you.
    I have a 1x10 set up on my Scott Scale and it's fine. Is it much difference on a fat bike?

mtbr member
    Apr 2012
    Love 1x10 - especially with a clutched RD. Silence is golden.

mtbr member
    Apr 2009

Groupset options?

Quote Originally Posted by rebnah View Post
    I have a 1x10 set up on my Scott Scale and it's fine. Is it much difference on a fat bike?
    I have a 1x10 on my hard tail and my fat bike. The difference is that the normal mtb is 34x11-40. The fatty is 32x11-42.
    I kept lower gears on the fat bike because the tires take more energy going up.
    I ride all on dirt, fwiw.

try anything on a bike
    if you go 1x10, be sure to get a Narrow Wide chain ring, then you wont need a clutched RD and wont drop chains. RaceFace ones are only about $30-40. Otherwise, just keep the rear derailleur until its worn or holding you back somehow.