First Fat Bike -- recommendations?- Mtbr.com
    mtbr member
    Sep 2016

New question here. First Fat Bike -- recommendations?

Hey everyone,

So I've been riding on the road for about 10+ years and love it.
    Speed isn't everything but it is something. However I just had a little girl and thinking of riding her off to day care and to use the fat bike as a replacement commuter as well as recreational rider for myself solo and with her in an upfront baby seat.

I'm 6'5" in height, thinking an XL is probably my best bet.

Is anyone familiar with Rocky Mountain Cycles?
    I'm looking at the 2016 Blizzard -30. Is this a good intro to Fat Bikes?

4 seasons is a must.

Blizzard | Rocky Mountain Bicycles

My budget is around $2000 CAD.

Thanks!

mtbr member
    Sep 2016
    Thanks!! About 3 KM away on paved. A couple of hills, nothing too steep for a 48x16 single speed, but I have heard a fat bike is a different beast and so I am unsure of how difficult they might be. Daughter will be a year old, she is 5 months now. Just a weee thing but loves looking at my road bike on the wall and when I spin the rims for her.

I ride with gatorskins in the ice/snow but those are 23mm so I am assuming a 4.8" tire is going to grip like nobodies business?
    Last edited by dtomilson; 09-19-2016 at 01:15 PM. Reason: adding more detail

Nor­wegr
    Depends on the tire and thread, with a child on board I'd definitely get studded tires and if there isn't any deep snow to think about 4.0s will be fine.

Look into Salsa and Surly bikes aswell.

mtbr member
    Sep 2016
    Quote Originally Posted by Vegard View Post
    Depends on the tire and thread, with a child on board I'd definitely get studded tires and if there isn't any deep snow to think about 4.0s will be fine.

Look into Salsa and Surly bikes aswell.
    I have been looking at both for sure, thanks!
    Is there a lot of float when riding a fat bike?