First Fat Bike Build: Looking for guidance.- Mtbr.com
    mtbr member
    Dec 2009

First Fat Bike Build: Looking for guidance.

First off: thanks to all of you that have taken the time to post info on this site about these bikes! In real life I'm a traveling snowboard photographer that finds himself with a grip of non-shooting days in a lot of snowbound locations. When the weather is bad or the conditions aren't prime for snowboarding. I plan on filling that time grinding trails on a fat bike!

Luckily, I spend a bunch of time in Jackson, WY every year so I'm planning on being around for the http://www.togwoteewinterclassic.blogspot.com in March.

I've been scoping the boards for a couple months trying to decide what to build. And, although I realize some of this has probably already been covered I figured I'd pose a couple questions concerning my own build to get some advice.

Here's what I've ordered from Chain Reaction:

9:Zero:7 Aluminum frame - medium
    Vicious Graceful Fat Sheba rims x2 - offset
    Surly Pugsley 135mm fork
    FSA ISIS 100mm bottom bracket
    Surly Endomorph tires

Here's what I have laying around that I'm hoping to use on this monstrosity:

Shimano Saint Rear Derailleur & shifter
    Shimano Saint Brakes
    SRAM 9 speed cassette
    Lizard Skins Peaty Grips
    Chris King headset
    Shimano DX platform SPD pedals or Crank Brothers 50/50ís

I found these at a City Bikes, a used co-op bike shop here in Portland:

XTR E-type front derailleur - $10!
    Truvativ ISIS crankset - $20!

Here's what I'm looking at purchasing to complete the build:

Bars: Easton Monkey Lite DH bar 30mm rise
    Stem: Truvativ Team SL 31.8mm
    Seatpost: Easton EA70 2 Bolt Seatpost
    Seat: WTB SIlverado Pro Saddle
    Rear Hub: Shimano XT Disc M775
    Front Hub: Surly Disc/Fixed hub