Fatboy SL vs 9:Zero:7 197MM Aluminum Build- Mtbr.com
    mtbr member
    Aug 2013

Fatboy SL vs 9:Zero:7 197MM Aluminum Build

I'm in the research stage of fat bike shopping. I've narrowed it down (I think) to either buying a stock Specialized Fatboy SL or building a 9:Zero:7 197MM Aluminum with IndustryNine hubs, carbon wheel set, and XTR components. Or possibly comparable Sram components. I know building the later would be more money than buying the SL. Any feedback or advice on which way I should go and why would be greatly appreciated. I'm no expert on bike building as I've only been riding three years now but I'm learning. My current bike is a 29er Salsa Ti with XTR components that I bought second hand and love...

mtbr member
    The 9:zero:7 looks like a lot more fun if your handy with your tools. Specialized makes a great product but the 9zero7 will be more custom. If standover is a concern go with the 9zero7. If you want a more XC ride. Go with the SL.

mtbr member
    you are treading on thin ice here. be very careful....you may not be in love so much with your 29er after you build your fatty.... Here's what i would do...

-197mm, alum, 9:zero:7 frame
    -bluto fork with winter seal kit
    -65 or 80mm chinese carbon rims
    -van helgas for summer, studded dillinger 5's for the winter
    -hope hubs (save some money)
    -transfer as many parts from your salsa to this bike and sell your salsa

if you still feel like you "need" to "feel like you're riding your salsa" build a 29" wheelset for your 9:zero:7 and don't look back....

all this assumes you live in the NE, don't plan on winter bikepacking for 350 miles, are looking at a fatty to ride in the winter and might be curious as to it's capabilities in the summer, and are content (or prefer) the feel of a rigid tail bike rather than fs.

mtbr member
    Apr 2011
    I am always a fan of building over buying.

I9, carbon, XTR sounds like a pretty solid bike.