Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    This place needs an enema

That fatbike-in-the-snow brake noise thing.

Howling is what I'm referring to.

Every ride at least one person has this happening. Usually all of us do. Doesn't seem to be limited to any brand of brake, or any other single parameter that I can deduce.

One guy thought that semi-metallic pads would stop it. Nope.

Another thought that solid (undrilled) rotors were the solution. They held out longer before starting, but ultimately were even noisier.

Many have suggested that their brand of brakes never do it. Turns out they'd never ridden on snow. Once they did, their brakes howled like everyone else's.

Anyone have a theory on what causes it? Anyone want to go even further and suggest a fix?

mtbr member
    Apr 2011
    I have heard setting up your bb7's so the drag just a little bit will genterate enough heat to keep them from yelling. I have no first hand experience.

I personally am so annoyed by the brakes that I do my best to not use them. Makes me a better rider I guess.

Rocking on a Rocky
    The brakes on my 2014 Maxi did not make the noise. Not sure why.
    It doesn't matter what I ride as long as I ride it Rubber Side Down●~●.

mtbr member
    Oct 2010
    My BB7's scream like a banshee. Never thought about it but yes it's worse in the snow. I'm going to try some automotive type disc brake quite on the back of the pads.

mtbr member
    Jan 2014
    Quote Originally Posted by mikesee View Post
    Howling is what I'm referring to.

Every ride at least one person has this happening. Usually all of us do. Doesn't seem to be limited to any brand of brake, or any other single parameter that I can deduce.

One guy thought that semi-metallic pads would stop it. Nope.

Another thought that solid (undrilled) rotors were the solution. They held out longer before starting, but ultimately were even noisier.