fat front setup, compare to 26" standard size tyre+front suspension fork- Mtbr.com
    mtbr member
    Dec 2010

fat front setup, compare to 26" standard size tyre+front suspension fork

sorry, noob question, but i'm new to this, so:

1. is that really fat front setup has same function (or even had more advantages) with front suspension fork?
    2. how it ride? is it fat front setup is heavier? or lighter than front susp.?

i'm planning to get pugsley fork and Big fat larry up front, i usually do XC

mtbr member
    Quote Originally Posted by adjitridika View Post
    sorry, noob question, but i'm new to this, so:

1. is that really fat front setup has same function (or even had more advantages) with front suspension fork?
    2. how it ride? is it fat front setup is heavier? or lighter than front susp.?

i'm planning to get pugsley fork and Big fat larry up front, i usually do XC
    I hope I understand your question correctly.
    I am planning to build up my Trek 8900 frame over the winter with plans of using my stock Mukluk fork and wheel that I have hanging in the garage collecting dust.
    The fat front will give you somewhat of the feel of a front suspension, with tire pressure being the key to a "controlled" ride. My intent with the Trek will be for longer distance back country/gravel road runner. Weight will probably be heavier with the fat front but depending really on what rim/tire/tube set-up you use. Increases in traction and grip with better roll over capability with the fat front will be a bonus.

mtbr member
    Jul 2012
    its heavier, slower, and has less give for the techy stuff...

but it freaking rocks!!!

mtbr member
    Quote Originally Posted by adjitridika View Post
    ..1. is that really fat front setup has same function (or even had more advantages) with front suspension fork?...