mtbr member
    Jan 2009

Fat bike for a big guy

I'm curious if a fat bike is for me as I have no experience with them and which one for my size and keeping the bike reasonably priced. I'm 6'1" 265#. I have been curious on the Surly Pugsley and Salsa Mukluk (Not $4,000 Carbon Fiber option). Or do I need to get my weight down before considering a fat bike? Are the two bikes mentioned good options, or should I consider any others in that price range or less, if I should even be looking right now?

I currently have a Trek Marlin 6 that I should ride more, lol.

Thanks

mtbr member
    Feb 2018
    Youíd be better off on a Surly Ice Cream Truck rather than the Pugsley since it can fit wider wheels and bigger tiresand youíll want the extra flotation ability. The Mukluks are very nice bikes as well.

fat guy on a little bike
    Dec 2006
    local guy to me is 6'4" 280, and loves his XL Kona Wozo.

mtbr member
    Motobocane Nightrain is serving me well.

I'm 6'4" 265

mtbr member
    Jan 2006
    Unless you are riding very soft trails your weight won't matter. As a fellow man of substance I ride 4" tires most of the time, 5" sometimes. Both are fine for local trails. If you plan to ride remotely bigger is better for everyone regardless of weight, but for urban riding on relatively packed trails bigger is not better. 4" is more than fine for sanding riding.

mtbr member
    Feb 2018
    Thatís true, depends on his average trail conditions, the amount of snow and traffic the trails receive and the temperatures. I think itís far better to buy a bike that can fit the biggest tires available then just run more narrow tires if conditions warrant it. You can always go smaller on tires but it sucks if you find you need more float and your bike limits you going bigger. Iíve seen it happen to other local riders again and again.

mtbr member
    Jan 2006