mtbr member

Does Stan's work with tubes?

I may be spending 2 weeks in the Mexican desert pretty soon and I need to sort out the tires. I will mostly be in a sandy wash but I may encounter some cactus spines. I have no experience with tubeless, coming from the PNW where there's no thorns. I do not want to learn it in 2 weeks, and I wouldn't trust it in the middle of nowhere. I do not care about the weight of tubes, so does Stan's work if I inject it into the tubes? I am concerned that going tubeless with the low pressure Ill be running in the BFL and Endomorph may cause problems.
    All I am saying is give pizza chants

Thingamejigger
    Yes, I put 2.5 cupfuls in each tube. Not had a puncture since.....

mtbr member
    Cool, thanks. This is going to be one sweet trip. I'm a little intimidated by it. I'll be about 20 days in the desert all by myself, riding 50 km down a deserted palm canyon out to the Sea of Cortez, then I'll packraft down the coast back to town. I have to get a $1000 hand desalinator pump, and I'm turning a stainless cooking pot into a campfire seawater desalinator. Also pulling an Extrawheel with 10 days of water on it. I'll have to drop water as I go in case I have to backtrack out.

I also need to confirm that Spot will, in fact, come in and rescue me from Mexico if I hit the help button. My friend form California may come too, otherwise I'm non my own. Not sure how I'm going to get down there from LA though if my friend doesn't come.

mtbr member
    Aug 2013

mtbr member
    Aug 2008
    Quote Originally Posted by Flying_Scotsman View Post
    Yes, I put 2.5 cupfuls in each tube. Not had a puncture since.....
    Prior to going tubeless, I ran 1.5 scoops of Stan's inside the Qtubes mounted on each of my 4" tires.
    The tubes are initially an air-tight environment, unlike a tire, where sealant acts to close voids in the tire, bead, & rim, and eventually dries up. My experience has been that Stan's stays liquid next to forever in tube.