Custom Surly Wednesday build, need help with shopping list- Mtbr.com
    mtbr member
    Aug 2014

Custom Surly Wednesday build, need help with shopping list

I'm interested in building a fat bike for winter riding in New Hampshire. I tried a few times with my plus size bike on groomed trails and I was often sinking a bit too much. Also want to build it myself for the experience, and I've never done this before.

So I'm looking for input on my shopping list, to make sure everything is compatible. I'm 5'7" 130lbs.

Frame and Fork
    Surly Wednesday with stock fork, black, size small. Judging by the price I found it's a couple years old when the colors were black and that dark red.

Headset
    cane creek HD2410

Wheels
    Surly Other Brother Darryl Front and Rear 170/177mm No way I'm building wheels.

Tires
    Open to suggestions here. 4ish inches.
    Surly Rim Strips

Drivetrain
    this is where I need the most help
    Race Face Ride cranks WWC says it's for 190/197mm hubs, but Race Face website says 170mm, wheel I linked earlier is 170/177mm. So I'm confused
    Race Face threaded BB Trying to use something that uses the BBT-79 park tool.
    Chainring 26 teeth do I care if it's boost or not?
    For the rest of the drive train, I'm going to start single speed, so need Surly Snuggnut. I may change to some older SRAM 10 speed in the future. I already have a Surly single rear cog and spacer kit.

Seatpost
    Race Face Ride no dropper, keeping it simple.

Brakes
    TRP Slate recently got Quadiems for my bike, like em, want to try other TRPs
    2 TRP Rotors 180mm
    Front brake adapter
    Rear break adapter

Other Stuff
    Do I need to buy headset spacers seperatly?
    As far as saddle, pedals, stem, handlebars, grips, those are simple, some I'll reuse from what I have, others I'll buy.

Missing anything? Thanks for the help!

This place needs an enema
    The rims you're considering are good. The hubs are crap.