jeduncan14083
    Dec 2018

Cold Weather Layering

Hi all,

I'm new to fatbiking, and cold weather riding, and am trying to figure out how to layer for temps below 30įF without becoming a sweatsicle. Anyone have any experience-based recommensarecom for budget friendly base, mid, and outer layers? Everything I'm seeing specific to cold weather riding online is pricy as hell.

If anyone has tried and liked anything from a cheapo place (wish, lightinthebox, Alibaba, etc) that has been effective in keeping them warm(ish) but more importantly DRY of sweat, please name/link drop!

I'm primarily looking fir recommendations for my upper body, as I have no issues anywhere else .

Thanks!

This place needs an enema
    You don't necessarily have to buy anything new.

You need to learn to layer and vent appropriate to the speed (because speed creates wind) and effort you're putting out.

mtbr member
    Feb 2010
    As Mikesee suggests, you don't need bike specific clothing. Start with a wicking base layer and a shell that has pit zips for good venting. If cold enough, use a mudlayer to deal with temperature variations. I find that mid layers with full front zippers are best. They allow venting straight to your baselayer during high exertion and give greater flexibility when used to compliment your shell vents. You can also tweak your base layer to deal with different temperatures.

The objective is to not overheat, use your venting to actively regulate temperature. In general dress cooler than you think at the trailhead and carry an extra layer just in case. You just have to experience what works for you.

Sent from my SM-G920V using Tapatalk

jeduncan14083
    Dec 2018
    Quote Originally Posted by Stu Pidassle View Post