cold weather clipless shoes...- Mtbr.com
    mtbr member
    Nov 2006

cold weather clipless shoes...

Just ordered a fat bike for the winter. I am a clipless rider, I know they have issues in the ice/snow. What shoes are out there? I am only seeing prices around $180 and up?

Anything else out there.

Thank you!!

Rippin da fAt
    Clipless shoes command a price for summer let alone winter.
    Seems the winter options are all very costly however, they will likely last many years.

When I thought I ordered a fatbike for winter riding, I had no idea it would turn out to be a year round two wheeled Jeep!

Congratz!
    Get fAt, Stay fAt, Ride fAt
    Doctor recommended...

mtbr member
    I have been using the Shimano MW5 for about 6 years now and they're awesome. Plenty warm even down to -25°C. The only downfall is the height so you need to pair them with gaters.

https://bike.shimano.com/en-EU/produ.../SH-MW501.html

Elitest thrill junkie
    For less than 180, go flats. Intermediate boots that are still cold in the real cold have issues with the cleats clogging up more due to less insulation and they still cost upwards of $180. I found the Wolfgars have a bigger range AND are good at colder temps, meaning my wolfhammers are redundant and cold, unless it's fairly warm out 20-30F.

There is flat out no way those shimanos would work for me at -25C, you gotta have crazy good circulation for that. The bigger issue tends to be spending money on intermediary steps that don't solve the problem. I can sympathize with that.
    "It's only when you stand over it, you know, when you physically stand over the bike, that then you say 'hey, I don't have much stand over height', you know"-T. Ellsworth

You're turning black metallic.

mtbr member
    I run clipless and wont go back to flats. Yup... boots are expensive.

I just give a kick of my cleat to my pedal and knocks the packed snow off.

Shimano spds and i crank them fairly loose.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk