Better all around snow tire?- Mtbr.com
    mtbr member
    May 2011

Better all around snow tire?

So I'm looking out my window at my Arctic Cat M8 in the front yard. It has a long track for flotation (BFL) but it also has 2 1/4" paddles (Nate) on the track for grab. Which is more important and better all around? Obviously there are alot of different snow conditions.
    I'm new to the snow bike gig but am excited to add another winter sport to life here in Valdez.
    Also needed to up my post count.

mtbr member
    Apr 2008
    I think the Husker Du will be the killer snow tire. Although Larry did pretty well for me last winter. It all depends on the type of snow.
    Jason
    Disclaimer: www.paramountfargo.com

mtbr member
    Aug 2008
    Quote Originally Posted by BradA57 View Post
    So I'm looking out my window at my Arctic Cat M8 in the front yard. It has a long track for flotation (BFL) but it also has 2 1/4" paddles (Nate) on the track for grab. Which is more important and better all around? Obviously there are alot of different snow conditions.
    I'm new to the snow bike gig but am excited to add another winter sport to life here in Valdez.
    Also needed to up my post count.
    I think it's kind of a different deal. Huge track on a snowmachine means it floats on powder and needs big paddles to get traction in loose snow. Fatbikes with current tires don't approach the low psi of long tracks, Mostly we ride on at least semi packed so really big knobs just break through the snowpack and cause us to sink. We are somewhat limited on power output too, at least I am. So far at least in my experience no fatbike tire will "float" on deep loose powder. We either get through it to a hard bottom or die.
    I'm holding out hope for Husker Du but for me Larry Endo combo works pretty good.

Fatback