mtbr member
    Dec 2013

Best tire/wheel set up for loose snow

I'm new to fat bikes and this forum so I apologize in advance if my question has already been covered. I have a new 9:zero:7 with 190mm rear hub. The wheels are Marge lite with Larry and Nate tires. Tires are set at 8 lbs. The set up works great on packed snow but not good in fresh. I went out in 3 inches of new snow yesterday and noticed that the Larry would not handle - in fact seemed dangerous on turns and descents. The Nates grip well until I try to climb. I think I need to go to larger rims and wheels for these conditions. Would the Bud and Lou with 80 or 100 mm rims cut it especially for climbing. Do I need a more aggressive front tire to keep from skidding? Thanks.

If you have a 190 rear end, no reason to run a 3.8 tire

Pretty much everyone who has ever put a bud and lou on has been happy with it... other than those few who want to go a bajillion mph on a fat bike. Otherwise in the more decent-price range... there is much love for the 4" On-One Floater.
    ...Be careful what you're looking at because it might be looking back...

mtbr member
    Dec 2013
    I tried to save weight on the tires thinking they would be good for most conditions where I live. I found out the hard way I was wrong. The Bud tread pattern looks more aggressive the Larry but the net question is 80 vs 100 mm rims. Will it make a big difference considering the weight differential?

Quote Originally Posted by Pilgrim22 View Post
    I tried to save weight on the tires thinking they would be good for most conditions where I live. I found out the hard way I was wrong. The Bud tread pattern looks more aggressive the Larry but the net question is 80 vs 100 mm rims. Will it make a big difference considering the weight differential?