mtbr member

Best Drive Train Setup for Snowy Days

So up till now I was happy with my 1x11 sram gx 10-42 cassette and 28 chainring setup. Then we had a big dump of snow and over along distance of riding single track, as I got more fatigued I was wishing for a lower gear. So question, for those with this experience cheapest options 26 tooth chainring or eagle drive train or just walk ? After reading MTBR drive train forum sounds like Sram Eagle is not reliable. Last question what is your setup for fat biking drive train in your backyard?

Thanks

aka bOb
    I've been running a Wolthtooth replacement 46t on my x01 11 speed cassette without any issues at all. I believe they make a 48t but I have no experience with that one. Prolly cheaper to get a 26t chainring but the 46t or 48t would give you a wider range without a lot of cost. I run a 30t oval with the 10-46

edit: Sorry my bad they don't make a 48t

https://www.wolftoothcomponents.com/...1-x01-cassette

mtbr member
    Apr 2008
    Sometimes walking is necessary. A larger cassette cog will have more effect than a smaller chainring. You can get the Wolftooth 49t which is probably your cheapest option. You'll likely need a longer chain. https://www.wolftoothcomponents.com/...am-and-sunrace

Eagle works well for me, but my set up is still pretty new.
    Jason
    Disclaimer: www.paramountsports.net

mtbr member
    Jul 2010
    Down to 24t narrow-wide chainrings are available from race face, which, since you currently have a 28t, is the same as going from 42t to 49t on your cassette. Depends on if you want wider range or closer shifts.

mtbr member
    I went with the 26T ring for winter as the cheapest option on my GX 1x11 setup, original was 30T so it made a difference when the going gets tough. I looked at the Wolftooth cassette upgrades but I believe that they don't fit the GX cassettes, just X0 and XX1 (expensive).
    '18 Norco Ithaqua SL
    '16 Salsa Bucksaw GX1
    '14 Salsa Mukluk 2

mtbr member