Alternate bike for pavement?- Mtbr.com
    mtbr member

Alternate bike for pavement?

Just looking for some advice. I ride a Specialized Fatboy, which is my only bike. I love it on the beach and the MTB trails near where I live, but there are a few paved paths that I ride as well. I am finding it really tiring riding the pavement, which I am assuming is due to the resistance of the fat tires. I am relatively new to biking, so I am wondering it I should look at a new set of tires/wheels or a different bike that's meant more for the paved paths.
    Or do you think it's not going to make much of a difference, and it's just the rider?

mtbr member
    Feb 2004
    A new bike more paved surface specific will be much more easy to pedal and much faster. You'll feel like you're flying compared to the fattie.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

mtbr member
    Jan 2018
    Look at a CX/Gravel bike or a Hardtail (with a lockout fork).
    A Specialized Diverge would be a good CX/Gravel bike. They even make a new model for 2021 with straight bars if you prefer that.

mtbr member
    Aug 2016
    By the time you buy a new set of tires, wheels, cassette, rotors, you are likely a decent part of cost of a new lower end bike for your pavement rides, excluding convenience.

I have a fat bike and a gravel bike, sort of as mentioned in this chain. You will be faster on a gravel bike or similar, and each bike will be more fun in different uses...I still ride the fatty on pavement if I am not concerned with speed as its still enjoyable, but I do enjoy having an alternative for when I want to cover more ground.

Elitest thrill junkie