mtbr member
    Nov 2018

27.5 - The New Standard Size?

I'm looking at buying a fat bike. Both my local bike shops have 2018 models left for me to purchase.

I'm stuck deciding between a Trek Farley 5 and Specialized Fatboy.

The Farley 5 is $1950 and has subpar components in my mind, but I liked the geo better and I question the size of the tires being more future proof. MSRP CDN $2150

The Fatboy is well equipped for my use. With a better NX 11sp drivetrain and better brakes for $1700. MSRP CDN $2650

I rode both and found they were both OK, but I'm new to fat biking so I don't have much to compare to.

My questions is. Should I be looking at the Trek because it has a newer 27.5x4.5 tire size? Is this more future proof? Is buying the specialized going to be comparable to owning a 26" mountain bike in a few years?

mtbr member
    Aug 2018
    Tough question. In regards to the Farley , a comfortable bike is priceless and components can always be upgraded down the road. But for the Fatboy 11 speed and better brakes FTW , plus I don't think 26" fat is going anywhere soon. If all it took to make the Fatboy as comfy was things as simple as a bar/stem combo and a saddle that's probably the route I'd go. Plus its $250 less , so there's extra money for your winter tires right there (if you were planning on winter tires that is).

Edit :If it is possible , I saw that while you did ride both of them already , but maybe consider trying to demo both on the same day and ride them the same place. This would probably give you the best comparison.
    Saying that you "hate" or are an "unapologetic critic" of a bike company doesn't make you insightful or interesting.

mtbr member