2013 Mukluk 2-drawbacks?- Mtbr.com
    mtbr member
    Mar 2009

2013 Mukluk 2-drawbacks?

Hey guys-I can buy a 2013 Mukluk 2 which was purchased and never ridden for $1200. A few questions as I'm new to the fat bike scene however I have demo'd the mukluk twice and did enjoy it.
    1. Is this a decent price? The bike will come with a Revelate frame bag
    2. Can I add a Bluto fork in the future??
    3. What are some drawbacks/improvements that have been made to the mukluk since 2013?
    I live in Boise, ID-some light snowfall in the foothills around here and as much snow as you could dream of 45 minutes away.
    Thanks for the help everybody!!! I hope to soon join this great group of riders, Nick.

mtbr member
    Jan 2016
    Here's info on upgrading the Salsa Mukluk with a Bluto fork: http://salsacycles.com/culture/rocks...salsa_fatbikes

I have a 2014 Mukluk and have been very happy with it.

mtbr member
    Mar 2009
    Thanks for that CJ-nice to know I can make it work....any thoughts on that price?

mtbr member
    Quote Originally Posted by nicksstorm View Post
    Thanks for that CJ-nice to know I can make it work....any thoughts on that price?
    New from a Salsa dealer with a warranty or new from someone's garage without a warranty?
    Safe riding,

Vik
    www.vikapproved.com

mtbr member
    Mar 2009
    Garage without the warranty.

mtbr member
    A new Muk X7 is $1999. A new Surly Wed is $1500.

Surly was selling new fattys on discount between $799 and $1199. There could be some left???

Get ?em while they?re fat. | Blog | Surly Bikes

So I'd say $1200 for a 3yr old fatty that was in new condition isn't crazy talk, but it's not a smoking hot deal either.

Be honest with yourself as to how well this bike meets all your needs in terms of fit, performance and parts spec. The closer it is to the bike would have bought new from a LBS the more favourably I'd view the price. If you are compromising on anything significant I'd buy something else.