135mm Rear Frames- Mtbr.com
    Adventure Mapper

135mm Rear Frames Available?

Hi all you fat bikers.

I currently ride a Salsa El Mariachi set up single speed. I am a super newbie when it comes to knowledge about the fatbike market and whats available currently.

I am very likely going to go Fat-Front this year and would like to start with the fork, initially using my spare 29er rear wheel with differently toothed cog as a front wheel that I can swap with the (other) rear wheel for gearing versatility on longer rides.

I eventually would like to build up a fatbike and be able to do the same thing (swap front and rear wheels during the ride for different gearing) on the fat bike frame with the new wheelset.

So...I would like to know which frames have:
    1) 135mm rear spacing (offset?) so I can use rear wheels for both front and rear
    2) which of those frames are single speed compatible.

Thanks everyone.

I am riding a friends Pugsley for my first real (not just parking lot experience) trail ride tomorrow morning.
    Can't wait!
    Last edited by forgiven_nick; 09-24-2012 at 06:09 AM.
    My YouTube channel for MTB content:
    http://youtube.com/RideAlongside

RideAlongside

mtbr member
    Jul 2004
    I've been wrong before but I think your choices are pugsley and 9zero7

nvphatty
    yup that pug you'll be riding is exactly what your seeking.

mtbr member
    Most other frames will require an adapter to reduce the rear dropout size to 135mm and then need a chain tensioner as most of them don't have horizontal dropouts.

MrClean is right, although I should point out that the current 135mm 907's have vertical dropouts so you might want to wait for the 2013 sliding rear dropout frames.

Adventure Mapper
    Doing some more searching, I found the inexpensive Black Sheep too. If I sold my suv I may be able to afford the frame, but that us the ultimate bike imho. I am taking about the one in the mtbr video from NAHBS. Thanks for all the replies so far!