Debating Cannondale Cujo Plus 20/24 sizes for son- Mtbr.com
    mtbr member
    Jan 2007

Debating Cannondale Cujo Plus 20/24 sizes for son

Before I start, I'm not a bike novice. I raced road bikes for about ten years, I've owned cx bikes, etc but I mainly just ride light xc mtn trails these days. So, I understand bikes but my god, I have never been this confused about kid's bikes.

My son turns 7 this month. He's about 51.5" tall, inseam is about 23.25-ish", weighs maybe 54 lbs or so.

Based on 'general' recommendations, I initially thought he'd be in the 20" size category. But thread after thread I read has similar kids pushing 24".

After a lot of contemplation, I had decided to spend a few more $ than I initially planned and started considering the Cannondale Cujo 20 & 24 plus bikes. I'm agetting him something so that he can ride WITH me. I want to get him doing longer distances, maybe even hit a non-technical xc trail or pump course.

Focusing on the Cujo, just for now, I can't quite figure out which size is more appropriate. 20" seems potentially small to the point he'd outgrow it by the end of the year. The 24", if I'm reading this right, has a standover height of just under 24". With an inseam less than that, I can't see how he is getting on that bike. So, I'm really curious when I see other threads of people with 6 and 7 year olds on this size bike. Anyone with experience on this model...?

Stated geometries:
    Cdale's own site is a bit all over the place (I realize these are rough guidelines but still...)

Cujo 24:
    Height Range 56" - 66"
    Standover Height 23.9"

Cujo 20:
    Height Range 48" - 60"
    Standover Height 20.5"

To me, that puts my kid at the 20" but that kind of surprises me
    Last edited by stuttsdc; 02-06-2019 at 09:58 AM.

mtbr member
    Aug 2017
    Ok, it'd be good to describe in a bit of detail his riding level (not just he's strong rider...) but also your goals as far as the kind of riding your hope to do soon.