Following V1 Owners - Avvy Tune or Fox Float DPS Upgrade?- Mtbr.com
    Void Ab Initio

Following V1 Owners - Avvy Tune or Fox Float DPS Upgrade?

So I've been riding my V1 for almost 2 years, and although the Following MB is tempting, I don't feel that I've really used my V1 for all she's worth, so I'm looking to do a little upgrading. I already have the RWC Needle bearing kit, but would like a little more action from the rear shock. As a result, I'm looking at either shipping my Monarch to Avalanche for a custom tune or dropping the coin for a Float DPS Evol. I'd like some real world feedback from V1 owners who have done one or the other. Pros/Cons, what did you do and would you do it again, etc.? Thanks in advance!

mtbr member
    Feb 2017
    I have only rode with the fox on mine with RWC. 140 up front in low geo from day one. So I dont have a comparison. I have been happy with it. Iím 185lbs running about 250ish air psi about 12-13mm sag. Doing small drops and jumps I donít bottom out unless I land horrible.

mtbr member
    Jul 2013
    Because the fox was cost prohibitive down here in Australia, I got my monarch custom tuned locally.

From what I've heard the fox is definitely better in its stock form than the monarch but it doesn't really overcome the high pressures needed for us big guys which made the shock difficult to get just right. I was continually playing with pressures and bands on the monarch to get it how I wanted it.

The beauty for me in getting the monarch tuned was I had an idea as to exactly how I wanted the shock to ride and the custom tune delivered that perfectly. No more fiddling, just change the shock pressure by 5-10 psi depending on terrain and ride. Would recommend.

mtbr member

Following V1 Owners - Avvy Tune or Fox Float DPS Upgrade?