NY - Short Cuts in Enduro Race? Outed by Stava (CHEATER)- Mtbr.com
    Guy who rides bike
    Sep 2015

NY - Short Cuts in Enduro Race? Outed by Stava (CHEATER)

I'm a newbie to the msg boards and relatively new to MTB (3 years). Did my first enduro yesterday in Lippman part, Catskills NY. Great trails, well marked, the local group put on a good event. However, when I was looking at the results today with posted times for the two stages, I remembered the Flyby feature Stava has. I was like, "sweet" Let me see where I could have done better to have improved my time compared to the guys that beat me. To my surprise I could see the route some riders took was FAR different than the one I rode. And surprise, their times were better than mine. This is when I put my detective hat on and did a little more digging. The freaking guy who finished second overall and first in my age group took the most egregious shortcuts. Not just a few, LOTS!!! Then he was yapping it up on his Strava account that he finished second. Oh, and he's a local, so he knew the best spots to cheat.

Yes I'm Butthurt!

How common is this with Enduro or Cross Country? I really want to compete in more races, but not if this is expected and tolerated.

mtbr member
    To a certain extent if it is not taped it is legal under most rules. It really depends on the organizers. This does have it's limits though especially when you start talking about true overland, IE no trail, cuts.

I ran into a similar issue a few months ago where it was obvious that people were cutting the trails, but nothing to be done about it in my situation. For your situation I would forward the link to the organizers and get their feedback.

mtbr member
    Aug 2014
    Unfortunately cheating has become accepted as a way of life in this country. I'm glad you didn't mention any names, as they may become 'offended'.
    BS, cheaters should be disqualified !
    don't tell me, "Show Me " !

Guy who rides bike
    Sep 2015