enduro training in northeast- Mtbr.com
    mtbr member
    Sep 2013

enduro training in northeast

So I'm new to enduro. Have not raced before. Have not competed in any mtb event really but I'm pretty set on competing this summer.

I'm from the Boston area, and am aware of the Eastern States Cup and Triple Crown Series (are there any more that operate in the greater northeast??). Right now I'm targeting the enduro @ Killington in July and the Sugarbush enduro in August.

My question lies with general training. I'm not looking to win but more have fun and get a feel for the scene. I'm pretty confident in my trail riding abilities. I ride a 100 mm Trek superfly --- albeit not the ideal enduro bike but I've taken it through some rough stuff before. From what I hear as long as my riding skill is there the bike choice shouldn't necessarily be an issue...

Once the season hits, I typically ride 1-2 times per week, as well as jog and lift weights. My workouts are fairly generalized- mostly to keep me in shape - as a newcomer to this sport what kind of training or regimine would you guys recommend? Anything in particular I should focus on? Again, not super interested in trying to break top 10 but I do want to do relatively well and maximize my enjoyment of the whole event.

Thanks for any tips!

mtbr member
    May 2010
    Just get out there and do a couple races. Use Strava and try to improve your times on downhill sections. Pre-ride the race courses as much as you possibly can. After you've done some races, you can worry about doing some more specific training.

mtbr member