Can someone explain the basics of enduro racing?- Mtbr.com
    dmo
    mtbr member

Can someone explain the basics of enduro racing?

I've been racing xc for the past several years and want to try an enduro race but am confused how it works.

Is it a mass start like in xc? What are the different stages and how does it all work? Is there a first timer category?

Thanks

Sent from my SM-G955U using Tapatalk

beater
    Quote Originally Posted by dmo View Post
    I've been racing xc for the past several years and want to try an enduro race but am confused how it works.

Is it a mass start like in xc? What are the different stages and how does it all work? Is there a first timer category?

Thanks

Sent from my SM-G955U using Tapatalk
    Details such as number of stages and categories will vary widely from event to event. In general, though, enduro races are point-to point races using time-trial format with staggered starts. Usually only the (mostly) downhill portions of the race are timed. The results are based on the total accumulated time over the timed stages, not the overall riding time.

We use mass starts if a race begins with a transfer, but the start of a timed stage is always individual by interval.

Most races will have multiple categories from beginner to expert/pro, and maybe juniors and masters. That's just like any other format.

mtbr member
    Quote Originally Posted by evasive View Post
    Usually only the (mostly) downhill portions of the race are timed. The results are based on the total accumulated time over the timed stages, not the overall riding time.
    What happens between stages? Do competitors have to ride to the next stage and is there a certain time they have to be at the next stage?

mtbr member
    Apr 2017
    yes,