Body Armor for Enduro?- Mtbr.com
    mtbr member
    Jul 2010

Body Armor for Enduro?

I have been racing XC for over ten years now, and I'm going to be trying out some enduro racing this year to mix things up. I already have a full face helmet and some knee pads, but I wanted to get people's opinions on upper body armor (chest protector, vest, etc). I did some searching around the internet and it seems like body armor isn't usually talked about a whole lot for Enduro, but being a dad and provider for my family, I think I wouldn't mind a little extra protection for piece of mind. Does anyone use upper body armor for enduro?

If so...do you use hard shell or soft?

mtbr member
    Feb 2004
    It is a good question and something I think each person needs to decide for themselves what and how much. Physical fitness is going to be the biggest factor. Fatigue will lead to more mistakes and crashes and the fitter the person the better they rebound from injuries. Full face, knee pads, gloves, maybe elbow pads and I would highly consider a back plate. I also utilize a liner short with hip/femur protection. Consider protecting against the potential injuries that are could be life changing.

mtbr member
    I've been contemplating this myself this off season- I bought myself a TLD Stages full face to wear for racing for all stages, but i think some body protection is definitely in order. I think I'm going to go with this https://www.foxracing.com/baseframe-...376-001-S.html, looks light weight enough and not bulky, the subframe looks ok, but the back pad looks like maybe too much for a day of pedaling; but may be good in a park

mtbr member
    Nov 2004
    Body armor can result in a bit less pain/stitches, but in general isn't going to keep your from breaking bones in a big get-off. My go to protection is as follows:

Helmet, knee / shin and sometimes elbow, gloves, shoes that cover ankles, hydration pack which can help with back...that's it.