Tips for training with Perceived Exertion- Mtbr.com
    mtbr member
    Oct 2010

Tips for training with Perceived Exertion

First off, I'm new at this whole endurance training thing, and I have searched a bit about RPE training and found some useful info but most of it was intended for people who have already been training with HR monitors and whatnot.

Second, I'm not training for any particular race. I would like to increase my overall stamina towards a goal of doing some long distance cycle touring/ bikepacking where in I want to be able to ride for most of the day at a moderate pace, sometimes day after day, and not be wiped out. In the event that I want to really get into competitive endurance racing, I will probably get a training plan and a HR monitor.

I know the most common advice is just to ride more and ride often, but I want to go about it in a semi structured way so that I get the most benefits from my rides. So I have a few questions:

What are some good methods to establish the training zones w/o using a HR monitor? How hard should I be going for "sweet spot training"?
    How easy should I go on "recovery rides"?

I also enjoy trail running, how can I mix that in to effectively improve stamina?
    How much training is too much?

Any input is much appreciated and I hope this thread can be of help to people like me who are just getting into endurance training and may be overloaded by all the technical aids that seem to be involved.
    Last edited by jmctav23; 03-31-2011 at 03:01 AM.

mtbr member
    Oct 2004
    I'm a reasonably successful endurance racer in the "old guy" class. Until last year, I resisted even owning a HR monitor, let alone actually using one. Last year, I gave in to having THE DATA, and it helped, but you definitely can do without, especially if you aren't necessarily gunning for the podium.