How to train for long events with limited time- Mtbr.com
    dmo
    mtbr member

How to train for long events with limited time

Ive been racing xc for the past 2 years. I started at cat 3 then moved to cat 2 for the past 2.5 years. The races i do are usually 1.5 to 2 hours in length. I usually finish in the middle of the back half of racers....sometimes faster, sometimes slower. Anyway, id like to train for longer races, 3-4+ hours and maybe try a stage race. Right now im able to ride 6-8 hours a week. Doing any more is really tough. Between work and famliy its hard to find time. I have 2 young kids and a wife that wants to see me too so its hard to go and ride 3-4 hours, especially if i have a 30min drive to a trail center.

Any tips on how to train for endurance events and manage the challenges of work and family?

Sent from my SM-G955U using Tapatalk

mtbr member
    Sep 2008
    Google Time crunched cyclist and sweet spot training. I do most of my training on my spin bike. The only "training" I do on the trail is just saddle time. Sometimes, I'll put on a movie and do 2+ hour base mile spins in my house. Not for everyone but it is for me. Getting to and from the trail, loading and unloaded takes too much time or quite frankly, it's just at pain and don't want to mess with it during the week after a long day at work. Not to mention lack of daylight in the winter.
    Small ring in front makes it easier. Small ring in back makes it harder. That blows my mind.

mtbr member
    A couple things I've found that help me that are pretty easy to accomplish:

- Commuting to work. Not possible for everyone but I find it really helps with my base miles.
    - Ride at night. My wife and daughter go to bed around 9 every night (wife goes into work super early). I strap my light on and go get a 2-ish hour ride in about 3x a week.