mtbr member

Going for a big one (for me), Mohican 100k

I have been doing a little research on training and food, but would appreciate any "wish someone would have told me" advice from more experienced guys. Especially if you have done the Mohican. My goal is to finish.

I started riding two years ago, mostly to lose weight. But I am thoroughly hooked on MTB and now do it every chance I get. I did the 2018 Iceman Cometh Challenge (50k, which was awesome) and decided to try a bigger ride for 2019.

mtbr member
    Going from Iceman to Mohican is a BIG jump. Instead I would have suggested the Lumberjack 100, which is a great first MTB 100. The Lumberjack 100 is 3 laps and mostly smooth flowing singletrack. It also allows you to revisit your base/support camp on every lap for resuply and your support crew assistance (wife in my case). As my first MTB 100 and only training for XC racing I finished the Lumberjack 100 in just over 9 hours in 2018. My goal was just to finish as well but I surprised myself a bit. Biggest obstacle was the mental challenge. As long as your hydration and fuel is adequate, your mind will be quitting well ahead of your body. Mental toughness and the ability to suffer is where those who finish and those that DNF usually part.

The Mohican is a tough technical MTB 100, significantly harder than the Lumberjack and not even comparable to Iceman. As a first timer 12+ hours for Mohican is realistic if you have some technical ability. Also, the Mohican doesn’t have laps so you’ll be relying on what you bring on the bike, what’s at aid stations and/or if your support crew can help out during the “race” along the route. The biggest thing from now until your MTB 100 will be getting in some long rides 4-6 hours where you can test hydration, fueling and your gear you’ll be using/wearing come race day. You don’t want anything new on race day that you haven’t tested works for you previously.