mtbr member
    Oct 2011

Endurance Saddles

I am new to endurance riding and look to up my level this next year. I just completed a 55mile, 13.5hour, 8400' vertical, one day ride. I am male, 44, 200lbs (on my way to 185lbs).

I ran into a medical issue with blood in my urine after about 35 miles (sorry about the graphic story here). The doc says to look for a saddle without a horn, as this is the latest news from the medical side to help with trauma to the prostate and the urethra on long rides.

I have been looking at the new Fizik saddles that have a lot of movement in them, i.e. the fizik kurve or the fizik alainte gamma xm.

Any ideas on the best saddles for long endurance rides and maybe some without a horn on them?

mtbr member
    Aug 2008
    Selle SMP

mtbr member
    Saddles are so personal, what one person finds absolutely, all day comfortable another might not even be able to ride for an hour. Personally I'm a WTB fan and use the PureV and LaserV saddles on my bikes - think I like the PureV better, but the LaserV works alright. Best bet is to try to find a shop with a demo/rental saddle program and demo/test some saddles - I know WTB offers this through shops, not sure what other brands. BTW, I don't like all WTB saddles, can ride the Laser, Pure, Rocket, Speed, but hated the Silverado I got with one bike.
    One day your life will flash before your eyes, will it be worth watching??

Fat On A Bike
    Nov 2009
    +1 on that. I would strongly suggest you would try the saddle first (if possible).
    Also, when you would loose weight the saddle you get now, might not fit you then...
    Been there, done that...

Ofir

Quote Originally Posted by LyNx View Post