End of race Asthma, Bonking, or Other?- Mtbr.com
    mtbr member
    Jan 2015

End of race Asthma, Bonking, or Other?

I just finished my second 50-miler this month, both with pretty big climbing numbers (7000' and 6300'). And both times on some of the final climbs around mile 40'ish and up, I could not get any more efforts out before running out of breath. My legs would be tired obviously, but didnt feel full on lactic and I couldnt get my HR above 165 before I just felt too out of breath.

Both times were similar weather and elevation 80+ degrees and around 8000' ft up. I live at 5500', and regularly ride into 7k range, so kind of figure elevation isnt a factor.

I am new to endurance'ish racing/riding and just started training about 2/3 months ago. No other pain to speak of.

Ride up more mountains more frequently.
    "These things are very fancy commuter bikes or really bad dirt bikes, but they are not mountain bikes." - J. Mac

mtbr member
    Jan 2015
    Quote Originally Posted by life behind bars View Post
    Ride up more mountains more frequently.
    Ha. I guess that couldn't hurt. Most of my training rides are only 30-35/3000-4000ft.

I just never felt anything like that before where my HR doesnt correspond with my out of breathness...

mtbr member
    Nov 2010
    A couple of thoughts... 2-3 months isn't much for endurance racing, just keep at it... more miles and more climbing. It sounds like you are just getting fatigued at the end. My other thought is related to pacing... do you get caught up in the fast start fray? If so, focus on starting slower and finishing faster. You want to try to maintain a better sustained effort throughout the entire race, starting too fast will catch-up to you. It's hard to watch everyone sprint away at the start, but it sure is gratifying to pass some of them back later in the race.
    TTUB - Ventura County California

mtbr member
    Jan 2015
    Quote Originally Posted by TTUB View Post