A Different "Which Bike" Thread; 4" Travel vs 5" Travel- Mtbr.com
    Not Smart Enough to Quit

A Different "Which Bike" Thread; 4" Travel vs 5" Travel

I've been riding and racing 29er hardtails for many years, but a recent back injury (and advancing age!) have made me consider a full suspension 29er for next season. In checking out the FS market it seems that most manufacturers are making 5" travel bikes that are close in weight and efficiency to their 4" travel offerings.

My question is, if most things are the same or similar (build kit, suspension design etc.) what are the pros & cons of a 4" bike vs a 5" bike? Is the weight difference usually huge? How about the XC vs "trail" geometry?

I do mostly long rides and endurance races (with maybe a few XC races) in the southeast.
    The standing eight count & three knockdown rules are in effect on this trail.

http://compvelo.com/content/

Fat-tired Roadie
    For me, geometry is the bigger deal. I'd say I'd have four major questions.

Does 120 mm put the bike over the hump into "unwieldy monster" territory if it's a 29er? I think for pedaly racing, I'd rather have 29" wheels than a bit more suspension.

Does the taller fork make it hard for me to put the handle bars at "my" height?

IME, any given brand typically goes slacker with more travel. Does that mean it takes me more focus to maintain a good line on uphill singletrack? Five hours in, that gets harder...

Do I have more fun and carry more speed descending? That's the promise, but it seems like it doesn't always play out.
    "Don't buy upgrades; ride up grades." -Eddy Merckx

mtbr member
    I agree with the above. Head Tube Angle is the thing I noticed most on a bike -- more than wheel size or suspension travel. Once the HTA gets slacker than 69 degrees, I find my front wheel starts popping up on climbs. That's no bueno on the steep, techy climbs.