Bad to race a 4 hour one week before a 12 hour?- Mtbr.com
    mtbr member
    Nov 2006

Bad to race a 4 hour one week before a 12 hour?

Two races i'd like to do are coming up, 1st is a ~4 hour race and the following weekend there is a 12 hour race. Is one week to soon between long races? Not enough recovery time? I've been racing mtn bikes for 3 years and I never feel that beat up after long races/rides.

This will be my 1st 12 hour solo race, would like to do ok, i'll be racing the open cat. I've done about four 6 hour races with pretty good results.

Mines 29
    I did 3 6hrs like that a couple years ago. Didn't ride in between each race, boy was I hurting by the end.
    2008 Specialized Epic
    2010 Vassago Bandersnatch
    2009 Vassago FistiCuff
    2009 Vassago Jabberwocky
    www.BIGPIGRACING.org

mtbr member
    Apr 2005
    It all depends n your fitness level and how fast can you recover........

bicycle rider
    Do both. Ride light in between. Recover harder than you train, maybe even pay for a leg massage. Sleep a ton. You'll do great.

Morgan

mtbr member
    Feb 2009
    You could use the 4 hour as a training day then rest before the 12. If you normally race long races, I would think you should be ok after going all out for 4 hours if you have a week.

But like others said, it all depends on how you train now and your fitness level.

Now broadcasting from CO
    Quote Originally Posted by sebastian21
    It all depends n your fitness level and how fast can you recover........