Well, another cracked chainstay!- Mtbr.com
    Not a Barry supporter.

Well, another cracked chainstay!

So I'm taking my Id apart to sell the frame b/c I'm so afraid of cracking it that - what do my wondering eyes but appear, a crack in the chainstay of the right and rear. (Sorry, a little Christmas spirit take off there.) Anyway, no pics yet as we just got a new digital camera and I'm still learning how to use it. It's strange b/c I'm not a hucker or anything. I ride strictly XC. No drops, very few jumps...and those are minor ones at best. My tires stay on the ground. I'm in it more for the exercise and to stay in shape.

I do have some wear marks on the frame from chain drop and some rub marks from the hydro lines. I'm sure all of this will lead Ells to void the warranty. So instead of a new fork for my other bike, I'm sure I'll be buying a new freaking rear (or hopefully just chainstay).

So people who have dealt with Ells CS, is there anybody in particular better to talk to than anyone else? I'm sure I'll be able to keep a level head...to a point, but I've never had to call them b/4 and I have no idea who to speak with.

Thanks and please wish me luck! I'm calling first thing tomorrow morning.
    Why would I need more than one gear?
    @A_SingleSpeeder
    EPA = crooks!

rr
    I don't do PC
    They are still making the ID and it has a lifetime warranty so they should take care of it, they haven't changed the design like the Truth have they? I don't think it matters who you talk to but I imagine they will want to inspect the frame before they agree to pay for it.

Of course the naysayers on this board won't believe it just broke, you must of been competing in the Red Bull Rampage or racing DH on it or something, or maybe you weigh 200lbs and were riding Porc Rim after taking a safety break

Oct 2004
    That stinks, especially right before christmas. Good luck with customer service and let us know how it goes.

FB

sock puppet

if you were...