GNC
    Over the Bars & Smiling
    Jan 2006

A visit to Ellsworth's New Manufacturing Facility

This is my first post but I've enjoyed the reading and the insight. A collective thanks for all the info...my buying, and riding decisons have been affected positively.

Recently (last week) I had the opportunity to visit to the Ellsworth Manufacturing Facility. As it turns out my boss is an old highschool buddy of Tony Ellsworth & upon learning this I immediately asked if he could "get me a deal on a new Epiphany." He responded with an emphatic, "Maybe". With my hopes faint but alive, he offered to arrange a tour of the Vancouver, WA facility. I jumped at the chance. "What the heck," I thought..."maybe I can grab a frame and make a run for it?"

I invited my Dad and Brother (both are Fabricators & Machinists by trade) figuring that they would find the visit interesting. What I witnessed was impressive to say the least.

On the day of the tour were met by two members of the production team: "Hag" (he builds the jigs and fixtures for production), & "Troy" (Master Welder, builds the prototypes). Both of these guys greeted us with smiles and showed us the operation. What I came away with was a profound respect for the craftsmenship and detail that goes into everyone of these bikes. These guys are much better descibed as artists than machinists or welders. The slightest flaw sends a frame to the scrap heap. Even under big production pressures these guys simply won't sacrifice quality. It was amazing. The detail and the steps involved in the build of a single frame are staggering.

By the time I gazed upon a finished Epiphany frame, my thoughts of "snatch and run" had evaporated. First of all, I was not convinced I could outrun "Hag"...but more than that, I left with a feeling that even if I were offered a discount, my conscience would make it difficult to accept it after seeing the sweat that goes into these things. (OK...maybe I could accept a small discount???)