What is everyone riding?- Mtbr.com
    mtbr member
    Apr 2016

New question here. What is everyone riding?

My background is in road biking. I picked up a Pivot Les Fat (rigid) last winter so I can keep riding in the snow and it's been great for that purpose. Lately, I've been taking it on some easy/intermediate trails in and around Toronto and it's worked ok for that.

However, I'm starting to feel like the Les Fat isn't the right bike for intermediate or harder trails. For starters, the HTA is pretty steep at 69 degrees so drops feel pretty sketchy - especially with a rigid fork. Also, I wish there was some suspension to help absorb trail chatter and bumpy terrain. I don't like to say my bike is holding me back but it is really feeling that way. For instance, there's a short/steepish rooty descent near Earl Bales Park where I won't even attempt because I'll likely bounce off a root and get thrown. Oh yeah, the undamped fat bike "bounce" doesn't help very much either (and, yes, I'm running low pressures).

Anyways, I'm looking at full suspension bikes now and I'm just curious what everyone's riding. It seems like 160mm travel enduro bikes are all the rage but they seem like too much bike for Ontario (are they?).

mtbr member
    Apr 2016
    Fairly new here, but will give my $.02. I feel more confident on my fats, especially on the exact terrain you've mentioned, than any other bike I've ridden. Key is tire pressure. That being said I've recently gone to a front suspended bike (lefty) but my rigid fat is still more than capable. What tires are you running? Width rim? If balanced right, you should flow over most roots/small obstacles when positioned correctly.

mtbr member
    Apr 2016
    Quote Originally Posted by rentalrider View Post