Roots & Rocks @ Hilton Falls- Mtbr.com
    mtbr member

Roots & Rocks @ Hilton Falls

Thanks to Wizard of Wheels ( www.wowmtb.com)

I attended the Roots & Rocks clinic @ Hilton Falls on Saturday....awesome clinic.

As a newb, I have rode HF a few times and had a frustrating time with all the logs and rocks...it was like going for a hike with my bike.
    After the brief intro we rode off to our first obstacle, to sets of stairs (3steps each). Now I would never have thought I would be able to do that. Ive been trying to increase my height on a bunnyhop for something like that...anyways, hit the stairs and 'rolled' up, the joys of being a newb !!
    After everyone tried the stairs we were split into two groups, a slow progression group for riders not as experienced or should I say as confident, beceause at the end of the day some of those riders who had trouble with the stairs were climbing rock gardens like it was a paved trail. I ended up going with the second group and off we went into the backcountry trails.

12 riders and two instructors and only got lost once!
    well, not lost just seperated momentarily... the last time I was at HF, the logs blocking the trail I thought were way to big to get over...wrong again!!
    The day was filled with technical trails over rocks, roots, and logs...and the trails I never knew existed, and of course the new riders I have met, what an amazing day.

To top it off..some good eats and free swag at the end of the day.

Thanks, Mike and Natalie for an awsome day I can now say I'm a semi-newb
    lots to learn still......

Anyone on here who attended Saturday?

Cheers,

mtbr member
    Feb 2004

would've loved to...

I would've liked to participate in that, didn't know about it though. Any idea when the next one is?

Cheers.

mtbr member

next year :(...but...

They only do so many clinics a year, but if youre able to get 5 people together they will do a personal clinic.

Contact Mike and Natalie @ www.wowmtb.com