Opinions or Suggestions on Buying a MTB?- Mtbr.com

Jun 2004

... and if we just ... Opinions or Suggestions on Buying a MTB?

Hey guys newbie here,

Well i want to buy a MTB since i want to get into the sport. I'm not sure what bike i want to buy but the one that i have in mind is this one.

Give me your opinons or suggestion on what to buy

Schwinn240 DSA

Click Here

Is this bike worth the price? Can i find anything better?

I do want a FS suspension bike that will last.

It's in my price range of 499.99 cdn. I'm looking to spend around 600$ max

but i also found this Norco Screamer bike for 649.99. but seems abit much.
    Click Here

so let me know what u all think.

Jun 2004
    I'm not speaking from experience myself but I've heard numerous times that full suspension bikes in this price range are not the best purchase. Usually someone will suggest spending the $ on a hardtail which will be a much better value in this price range or save the $ for a better FS bike. Just relating what I've read countless times.

almost there!

one things for sure...

I wouldn't recommend buying a bike from Canadian Tire because I doubt they would honour the warranty if something breaks, or if they do honour the warranty they don't have a mechanic on site to fix the problem.

I would check the bikes in your price range on this part of this site:
    http://www.mtbr.com/reviews/2003_ful..._byprice.shtml

And I'd recommend buying it from a bike shop. Also take your time so, and don't let any sales people rush you into a purchase. And make sure you get the right sized frame.

Good luck.

Mar 2004